Back Where I Started – Michael Importico

***PLEASE USE HEADPHONES***

This is a sound collage of a fictional journey by car. It was created from a field recording of my car, and mixed with other found sounds.

With this work, I wanted to explore a place moving through space. I was inspired by the works of Bill Fontana who focuses on the sculptural elements of sounds. I was inspired by the idea that the car represents a very personal and intimate space that has very distinct sounds of it’s own and how this sound making space is in motion and encountering the sounds that inhabit the space it traverses in. It is in a way a ‘passing conversation’ of sounds.

This collage consists of a field recording of my own vehicles engine on a non-specific journey that I then put into conversation with the sounds of the places encountered during travel. The juxtaposition of the intimate space of my car, that is, onto itself a unique set of sounds that represent motion, and the sounds of other specific locations as they come into and go out of listening range.

Leave a Reply

