Reading Reactions (Caroline)

Max Neuhaus

I enjoyed most learning about the structure of the individual pieces: driving through radio transmitters, calling in to collaboratively make sound, booming sound from a traffic circle and designing the specifics of a siren. There is an excitement in the description of these pieces because they engage everyday systems (road ways, driving, and radio) and common gestures (driving on a road, listening to the radio, and walking around the street). Even without hearing the sound itself, the facts of the pieces hold a very particular weight. I thought the babble about sound and materiality were all present by understanding the pieces themselves.

Site-Specific Sound Installations in the Urban Environment

Here again is this debate about the term “sound art.” I am resistant to the snobbery which totally dismisses this term; I agree with certain aspects of the argument, sound is the medium and it isn’t the content of the work. But do we not use the term visual arts? How can you sincerely dissuade people from categorizing work based off the basic fact of through which sense it is being perceived? Yes it is “reductive”, but isn’t also useful and inevitable? I believe a system of conceptual categories would create more reduction rather than categories based off the medium of the work, such as sound art.

MODELLING THE SHOPPING SOUNDSCAPE

At first I couldn’t get around the implication that the purpose of this installation is to create an environment more conducive to spending money on frivolous things. It seemed to me almost like a misappropriation of the ideas of sound art. For some reason I have this bias against art installed for these purposes. Should someone really be made to feel so comfortable and lulled in an environment where there is so much money being changed hands? Apart from my qualms with the behavioral engineering purposes of this installation, I was impressed by the trial and error development and the consideration that went into the sound design. 

Site Specific Live Electronic Music: A Sound-Artist’s Perspective

At first I couldn’t get around the implication that the purpose of this installation is to create an environment more conducive to spending money on frivolous things. It seemed to me almost like a misappropriation of the ideas of sound art. For some reason I have this bias against art installed for these purposes. Should someone really be made to feel so comfortable and lulled in an environment where there is so much money being changed hands? Apart from my qualms with the behavioral engineering purposes of this installation, I was impressed by the trial and error development and the consideration that went into the sound design. 

One thought on “Reading Reactions (Caroline)

  1. Hi Caroline,

    I was curious about whether you are familiar with the work of Matta-Clark, as described in the LaBelle, and whether the building cut-out spoke to you at all…

    Regarding the Andueza: I agree with you about the sound art snobbery. The rest of the article I found to be much more interesting than the introduction, which seems a bit off-point.

    I think you may have accidentally copied and pasted the same response to your second and third articles (you only needed to do three, so no worries).

    Mostly I’m curious, though I already know your chosen space and concept, whether anything you read stood out as relevant to your work.

    Hope you had a productive (and nice!) break!

    Abby

Leave a Reply

