Sound Collage Proposal

After working on my old project Household Symphony, and getting minor TV advertising offers about the idea – I’d like to improve my old idea and make a better Household Symphony.

Basically, I’d like to record sounds of household objects that are not meant to be used as musical instruments, and create soundbanks/libraries using these sounds, and expose their potential.

In the previous project “Household Symphony” – I tried to make this become a reality, but I wasn’t really enthusiastic, and I lacked time, motivation and the right equipment. I have all right now, and I believe I can improve the results. I’m planning to record more objects (approx 10 low, 10 mid and 10 high freq.), capture multiple velocities for these objects, (~5-10 depending on the object) and I’ll convert these into functional usable digital instruments, which I’ll later use to compose a piece, record, mix, master and present in video format.

I won’t be approaching time in a rather unique way. Some sounds will loop some won’t. Some will be sustained, and some will be one-shot. As it always is in a normal produced song, except this time the sounds will be collaged from household items, and they’ll be the instruments. They’ll be incredibly expressive, and as detailed as it could get.

Also in addition to my own old piece that inspired me, here are two other projects that were incredibly inspiring.

Sampled Room

SoundWorks Collection : the sound of transformers

One thought on “Sound Collage Proposal

  1. Hi John,

    Enjoyed the links! Makes me want to get my hands on some dry ice to experiment. To clarify: the question about time in your context is more about structure, and your plan for how the piece will unfold. So, a diagram/graphic score or script could be a useful starting point, even if you depart from it later on.

    Anyhow, you might check out this article William Gaver: What in the world do we hear? An Ecological approach to Auditory Event Perception. He describes a taxonomy of everyday sounds that is somewhat thorough, and might be useful to consider as you make your recordings–might offer difference approaches to both making and categorizing the types of sounds you want to work with.

    Abby

Leave a Reply

