Sound Collage Proposal Revisited – Michael Importico

I want to make field recordings and have a go with the  ‘cut up’ technique.  Below are some preliminary ideas for sourcing the field recordings.  It’s a bit difficult to project the final outcome as randomness is an element of the work.

I’m interested in collecting sounds from my car en-route to a destination.  I want to put contact microphones at various locations on my car and mix these sounds together for a complete sound of my vehicle in transit.  I was thinking I’d place mics under the hood to get the sounds of acceleration and shifting gears.  Also, I’d like to add in exhaust sounds as they directly correspond to the engine sounds.  Additionally, I think collecting the sounds of the door opening and closing would denote the beginning and end of the work.

I think there is potential for this work to become a ‘cut up’.. and through this random act of splicing the audio of a journey, I am interested to see if the notion of movement or travel is still present.

The original un-cut up recording will be recorded and mixed live and have a sequence similar to this.

Door opening and closing -> engine starting  -> put into gear -> driving, stopping, turn signals -> stopping, out of gear -> door opening door closing.

I want the sounds to be very literal for the original sequence.  Its should very clearly tell the story of a journey, without any specific point of origin or destination, but more about the travel itself.  I want to choose this “on the road” theme because the action of being in motion or transit is very much a ‘place’ albeit one in constant flux, but this is what I hope to capture and express.

I also want to abstract this by doing the ‘cut up’ routine tot he audio.  Im curious if the sense of travel is embedded in the sounds themselves, and to a lesser degree the sequence of the sounds.

I think the listening context is best described as active listening, in which the listener is asked to pay close attention to the audio.  Additionally, I think this work should be heard through headphones in an effort to block out ambient room sounds/noises.

-michael importico 

One thought on “Sound Collage Proposal Revisited – Michael Importico

  1. Hi Michael,

    I think you’d be really interested in the dissertation chapter I mentioned: “Sounding Cars, Selling Experience: Multimodal Listening and the Sonic Composition of Consumer Products” by Steph Ceraso. Shoot me an email if you are interested–I’ll need to get permission to share it.

    She’s exploring sound in cars from an entirely different perspective–ultimately might not be relevant, but could be interesting to check out, anyway.

    Abby

Leave a Reply

