On Beethoven and Deafness

Could someone please post a link to information about Beethoven *not* going deaf as you mentioned in class yesterday?  

From Grove Online:

At this time Beethoven had not yet given up hope that his doctors could do something for his hearing, but he could already foresee incalculable troubles both for his professional life and – what it is easy to forget was equally important to him – for his social life. As he wrote to Wegeler:

I must confess that I am living a miserable life. For almost two years I have ceased to attend any social functions, just because I find it impossible to say to people: I am deaf. If I had any other profession it would be easier, but in my profession it is a terrible handicap. As for my enemies, of whom I have a fair number, what would they say? 

http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/40026pg5#S40026.5

Leave a Reply

