Reduced Listening

I came seeking silence.  I first enjoyed the peace of no one talking or making movements.  Once I felt that there was no noise around me, I was quickly proven to be incorrect.  My ears attuned themselves to a distant dull roar.  It was almost inaudible and felt like I could be imagining it or hearing it from within my own being.  As I listened more closely, the sound became louder and more intense.  It was not a consistent sound; it ebbed and flowed unpredictably.  The louder periods of the noise seemed to be rushing with great urgency.  It was not a high-frequency sound, but the great intensity still made me perceive it as very piercing.  The place I stood in was much more resonant than I expected and I would hear the more intense rushes of the noise echo for a moment after they ebbed away.  There was also another light popping noise intermingling with the roar, providing an intriguing contrast.  This noise never produced a consistent rhythm, although sometimes it felt close.  The two sounds wove themselves together and overwhelmed my auditory senses.  I came seeking silence, and instead I found beautiful noise.

Allyson Edington

3 thoughts on “Reduced Listening

  1. REVISED DESCRIPTION, 2/4: At first it was silent. Then, after about 10 seconds or so, my ears attuned themselves to a distant dull roar. It was almost inaudible and felt like I could be imagining it or hearing it from within my own being. As I listened more closely, the sound became louder and more intense. It was not a consistent sound; it ebbed and flowed unpredictably. The louder periods of the noise seemed to be rushing with great urgency. It was not a high-frequency sound, but the great intensity still made me perceive it as very piercing. The place I stood in was much more resonant than I expected and I would hear the more intense rushes of the noise echo for a moment after they ebbed away. There was also a popping noise intermingling with the roar, providing an intriguing contrast. This noise never produced a consistent rhythm, although sometimes it felt close. This popping was neither quiet nor loud compared to the first sound, but it was always present. The two sounds wove themselves together and overwhelmed my auditory senses… yet they were never truly LOUD. It would appear as background noise if other noises were present in the foreground.

    -Allyson

Leave a Reply

